Himalayan Sunrise

If there ever was a more stupidly spontaneous travel moment in my life, it would be when I took this photo. The Himalayas are the highest mountain range in the world and it stretches across five countries: China, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Bhutan. This picture below was taken from Nagarkot, Nepal and you could see the outline of the snow capped mountains looming in the distance. One of them should be Mount Everest. Which one? Oh I don’t know! I was busy trying not to lose my toes from the cold.

121216_Himalayas

Mount Everest is the highest peak in the world and is the holy grail for serious mountaineers. You know, fit and athletic people unlike me. So how exactly did I end up here wearing only flip-flops? Well my shoe broke and so was I but hell, it’s not everyday that you get the chance to see the sunrise over the Himalayas even if it might cost me my toes! I’d have to say the view was well worth it. So there. No regrets.

Now it’s your turn. What’s the stupidest thing you’ve done in the spirit of travel and adventure?

29 thoughts on “Himalayan Sunrise

  1. Too many stupid moments to recount, unfortunately…
    Climbing up cliffs in the southern Utah desert and nearly getting “cliffed out” and unable to climb back down (repeat offender on this particular gem).
    Exploring a sketchy section of Sao Paolo Brazil (and having a wonderful time people-watching), turning a corner into an alley and realizing three men with obviously bad intentions are looking at me.
    And many more…

    For a great story about flip-flops, read the story “The Shoes of Kilaminjaro” by Cameron Burns. He pokes fun at all the mountaineers (him included) wearing big expensive boots, while the African porters are wearing flip-flops.

  2. Nice one! I ended up with some almost frostbitten toes too when my wife and I decided on a hike in Josephine Falls, Banff in the middle of winter without toe warmers 🙂 Maybe a little stupid…

  3. I climbed all the way to the top of the duomo in Florence because it was one of my dreams to walk between the two domes. The stupid part is that I’m an incomplete paraplegic and I can only walk short distances using crutches. I climbed all 426 steps to the top dragging myself up using my arms, then to come back down again I used my husband’s as a lever to hoist myself over each step (maybe that’s his most stupid story!). It took two hours for me to climb up, and one and a half hours to get back down again. Heaps of spasm and pain, but worth every bit of it for the experience! Amazing to climb between the two domes – the view from the top was ok, but the dome architecture is unforgettable. And the pain subsided after a few days and plenty of meds!

  4. Well I suppose without too much effort there are a number of things that classify as stupid, which I’d rather forget than mention. But the stupidest is easy, and that was not doing what you chose to do to experience the Himalayan Sunrise in that fashion when I had the chance, so many years ago now. I commend your adventurous spirit and congratulate the Maria Precioso tenacity and exuberance to carry out these adventures you so generously share with we your spectators. Bravo!

    Jean-Jacques Fournier

  5. I’m going to go with a recent trip of mine to Scottsdale, Arizona. We went on a long, mildly treacherous hike through the desert, but that isn’t where the stupidity came into play. That evening I tripped on two tiny steps in my stilettos and majorly sprained my ankle. I spent the rest of what was supposed to be an adventurous trip sitting around with my leg propped up. Nice one!

Leave a Reply

